New to Linux and the open source world? We have compiled a huge list of resources to help you go through Linux and its distributions. Visit the full Linux guide page right now.

.
Lubuntu 19.04 Review
  • Available software
  • Creativity & Inventing
  • Daily Use Purposes
  • Stability & Bugs
  • Customizability
2.4

Summary

Lubuntu used to be a great Linux distribution, but after it switched into LXQt, it became a horrible one for end users. The distribution is unpolished, and contains many issues and bugs.

Lubuntu used to be that Linux distribution that you referred a friend to in case he wanted a very lightweight, newbie-friendly yet elegant alternative for Windows. Up to its 18.04LTS release, it indeed worked as expected, but starting with 18.10 where the development team switched to using the Qt-based desktop LXQt instead of traditional LXDE, things started to break.

As a short background, you should know that there was a desktop environment called “Razor-Qt”, which was a newly developed desktop based on the Qt toolkit that aimed to be lightweight and modern in the same time. There was also another team working on a Qt branch of LXDE (which is GTK-based) called LXDE-Qt. After a lot of discussions, both teams combined efforts and started to work on one project called LXQt.

LXDE desktop is still working today, and is considered to be feature complete. But it was not even ported to GTK 3 like other desktops such as MATE and XFCE, instead, it’s still using the legacy GTK 2.

Today, we’ve put our hands on the latest Lubuntu 19.04 version and reviewed it. This is how the review went.

Lubuntu 19.04 Review

Installer

Lubuntu 19.04 is not using the default Ubiquity Ubuntu installer. Instead, it’s using another one called Calamares, which is a universal installer that many other Linux distributions use too. Calamares is a good installer with a lot of options.

You’ll be welcomed when you started the installer:

Lubuntu 93 September 23, 2019
Lubuntu Installer

The first step would be to select your timezone:

Lubuntu 95 September 23, 2019

Followed by selecting your keyboard layout:

Lubuntu 97 September 23, 2019

The 3rd step is choosing the partition where you are going to install Lubuntu on. Calamares allows you to directly replace a specific partition you have, so you can just click the partition where you want to install Lubuntu and proceed:

Lubuntu 99 September 23, 2019

If you want to have a different arrangement, then there’s a full manual partitioning option integrated that allows you to change your disk setup however you like:

Lubuntu 101 September 23, 2019

Finally, you enter your username and password:

Lubuntu 103 September 23, 2019

And the installer will start installing Lubuntu 19.04:

Lubuntu 105 September 23, 2019

Desktop Environment

The default LXQt desktop on Lubuntu 19.04 looks like this:

Lubuntu 107 September 23, 2019
Lubuntu 19.04 Desktop

As you can see, it’s a traditional layout just like Cinnamon, XFCE and other desktop environments; A panel on bottom and a desktop with icons. However, this is where the limitations and issues start.

The first issue is that there’s no way for you to control the brightness of the screen from the panel. The battery icon (the green circle) on the panel does not have the functionality of changing the brightness, it just shows you the battery percentage. What’s more frustrating is that if you try to change the brightness using keyboard shortcuts (Fn + Brightness up/down), then it will be changed by 2 levels up or down, not just one, so you can’t reach the level you may desire.

It sounds like the developers’ fix for this issue was to create a separate complete window to control the brightness, that you must launch from the applications window each time you want to change the brightness:

Lubuntu 109 September 23, 2019

Another issue exists in keyboard shortcuts. Normally, when you add a new shortcut that utilizes the same key button as another shortcut, the older one would be removed or a notification message would be sent. This is not the case in LXQt, you may add a shortcut only to discover that it doesn’t work because there’s another thing holding that key, and it wasn’t replaced automatically. There’s even an option to choose whether you want the desktop to apply the first one or last one. But why would I as a user keep both shortcuts if only one of them is going to be used anyway? Such a horrible user experience:

Lubuntu 111 September 23, 2019

Moreover, shortcuts don’t work if menus or popup windows (like file chooser) are open. For example the file manager’s menus or the desktop’s application menu, if any menu is open, you can’t use a keyboard shortcut.

It’s very hard to add apps icons to the quick launch widget on the panel. You can’t right-click it for example in order to choose the option to add it there. Instead, you have to drag and drop the icon to exact position of the border of the quick launch widget, or it won’t show up there:

Lubuntu 113 September 23, 2019

If you try to change the background image for example, or run any action that require you to choose an image using the file chooser, then one of the limitations you would notice is that there’s no preview option in the file chooser; You can’t know which image you are looking for unless you know it by name:

Lubuntu 115 September 23, 2019

If you try to take a screenshot using the default screenshot tool, then after taking the shot, it will be opened in the image viewer instead of just asking you where to save the image:

Lubuntu 117 September 23, 2019

Also, those buttons in the toolbar like the arrow/rectangular/circle.. etc that are meant to edit the image, they do not work. To be precise: They do draw lines and rectangular on the image, but you can not see them when you draw them (nor after you finish), you are blindly drawing things in hope they are in the way you hope for!

While Lubuntu comes with many themes for window borders, icon themes and panel themes (LXQt themes), very few options exist to change the Qt theme, which is the main thing a user may want to immediately replace:

Lubuntu 119 September 23, 2019

A possible area of confusion can be in font management. There are options to change the font type using the Openbox settings, and also using the LXQt settings and also in desktop settings, but the LXQt one says “interface font”, so it should’ve been comprehensive change:

Lubuntu 121 September 23, 2019
Lubuntu 123 September 23, 2019
Lubuntu 125 September 23, 2019

The user management window shows some users that shouldn’t have been displayed:

Lubuntu 127 September 23, 2019

There’s no apparent “New Tab” button in the terminal emulator, nor in the right-click menu. You have to go to File --> New Tab if you want to have multiple tabs:

Lubuntu 129 September 23, 2019

There’s an option in LXQt to enable desktop effects using X server render. While it works in principle, the default values of the opacity of inactive windows/popups are very bad. Inactive windows/popups will be so transparent and hard to realize if this is activated:

Lubuntu 131 September 23, 2019

Touchpad clicking is not enabled by default in Lubuntu 19.04. But you can change this behaviour yourself from the control center after installation if you wish.

The final issue we ran into was that you can not resize maximized windows without hitting the “unmaximize” button first. E.g If you have the file manager window open and maximized, then normally on other desktops you can simply drag the title bar down and it will be automatically unmaximized and windowed for you. But this is not the case in LXQt, you have to hit the button by yourself.

Software Management

There are two applications for software management on Lubuntu 19.04. The first of these is the Muon Package Manager, which can be considered the Qt version of Synaptic (though it’s not):

Lubuntu 133 September 23, 2019

The second one is the KDE Discover program, which is meant to be used as a software center. In other words, it doesn’t directly deal with the concept of “packages”, but only shows you the possible desktop applications to use:

Lubuntu 135 September 23, 2019

Both options are fairly good and do the purpose of software management on Lubuntu 19.04.

Resources

After a fresh boot into Lubuntu 19.04, the system uses 513MB of RAM, which is the double of the RAM usage in Ubuntu 18.04LTS (Which uses LXDE):

[email protected]:~$ free -m
              total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
Mem:           5914         513        4664          14         736        5132
Swap:             0           0           0

It is also worthy to note that Lubuntu comes with a system monitoring application called “qps“, but its user interface is very messy and hard to understand:

Lubuntu 137 September 23, 2019

We didn’t run into CPU hangs or other similar issues on Lubuntu. The LXQt desktop seems to be OK in that corner.

Conclusion

Most of the criticism you have seen in this article is coming from the LXQt desktop environment. It’s understandable that any new piece of software will have bugs/issues in the first few years of its life cycle, but the LXQt desktop still needs a long round of polished updated to make it match the other desktops such as GNOME, Cinnamon, XFCE and MATE.

Meanwhile, if you are interested in trying Lubuntu, we recommend that you stick to the 18.04LTS version, which comes with LXDE.

Lubuntu 19.04 Review
  • Available software
  • Creativity & Inventing
  • Daily Use Purposes
  • Stability & Bugs
  • Customizability
2.4

Summary

Lubuntu used to be a great Linux distribution, but after it switched into LXQt, it became a horrible one for end users. The distribution is unpolished, and contains many issues and bugs.

For the price of one cup of coffee per month:

  • Support the FOSS Post to produce more content.
  • Get a special account on our website.
  • Remove all the ads you are seeing (including this one!).
  • Help us get to our goal of 100 supporters, to start many initiatives.


.
27 Comment
Nonya September 24, 2019
|
None of the *buntus have ever been great, or even good! One of the many reasons is that KDE is not the default desktop. All of the *buntus have been riddled with bugs, and the bugs are not fixed in a timely fashion. In addition, the *buntus are based on Debian, but contribute little if anything back to Debian. On reflection, considering how buggy the *buntus are, that probably a good thing!!
Patrick Wilder September 24, 2019
|
I am sad to see that lxde moved to lxqt. I have used LXDE on several computers over the last 10 years and the only issue I had was that it was not moved to gtk3. I tried to use lxqt several times. It looks beautiful but like the issues raised in this article, I find myself frustrated with the changes and quarks that lxqt has. This has forced me to move to Cinnamon desktop. I find that it works better than lxqt. Once lxqt works out the bugs I may come back. patrickw99
Aurélie September 24, 2019
|
I disagree, Nonya. Ubuntu isn't bad, under the hood, nor are all other *buntus bad. The problem is that vain fiddling of dozens and hundreds of developers with all those interfaces. Most of these people improve things for the worse, deliver half-baked stuff, and evidently do not give a smeg about user-friendliness. M. Hanny Sabbagh's article illustrates my perception. However, use that standard good-under-the-hood-Ubuntu with Cinnamon, and you get a fantastic OS that never ticks you off. The only thing you 'loose' is the name Ubuntu. But, in all honesty, Mint sounds good in my ears, too. Thank you for your detailed article, M.Hanny. :-)
Alwan Rosyidi September 25, 2019
|
I'm currently using Lubuntu 19.10 daily build and I'm happy with it. Yes it lacks some of basic feature like brightness control, alt+f2 not working, etc. But it seems far more easier to customize the desktop, and with breeze icon theme, it would be, i call it, the lite version of KDE Plasma.
Vince Pinto September 25, 2019
|
These snowflake millenials are so delicate, It is a work in progress, they developed a full desktop environment from the ground up in a couple of years, you have to expect some bugs, this is something that not even Ubuntu could do with Unity, even gnome had and still has issues after decades. This is the kind of critics open-source community does not need.
Chris Wyatt September 25, 2019
|
In fairness, many of these are minor niggles that can be worked around; however inexperienced users may have difficulty finding these workarounds. I've been using the new environment since 18.10, and, I really like it. I've decided to stick with LXQt, having not enjoyed the experience of the newer GNOME (after the classic one), or Unity. And KDE I always found rather clunky, but granted, I have not tried KDE out in a very long time, so it may have come in leaps and bounds by now. Having tried all these environments, I eventually settled for LXDE. I did notice that Image Viewer bug too! It's a bit disappointing that this hasn't been noticed in either 18.10 or 19.04. Fingers crossed for 19.10. I didn't file a bug report for it, because I can just use GIMP instead; however I can imagine that could be a useful feature (if it worked!) I'm surprised you did not mention the lack of a good network manager GUI, as that, to me, is the biggest omission. The other thing was the compression utility being poorly integrated, but that's about to be fixed with the new LXQT Archiver. Once both of those features are improved, personally I think it will be on par with the old LXDE version. A few bugs with the built-in apps aren't too much of a problem with me, as I can just replace them with some better alternative anyway. As long as the windoe manager itself is stable and lets me do what I want, I'm happy, but, I'm a developer who is happy to poke about in a terminal, so I do agree that Lubuntu is not the best recommendation for a casual/inexperienced user.
John Philiph September 25, 2019
|
I have the latest Lubuntu installed and yes. Full of bugs. Looking for a lightweight alternative that just works. Any recommendations?
John Philiph September 25, 2019
|
Thank you Hanny. I will try them out: ) My laptop is not very powerful, I hope they run well.
Chris G October 1, 2019
|
You mention "If you try to take a screenshot using the default screenshot tool, then after taking the shot, it will be opened in the image viewer instead of just asking you where to save the image:" The default screenshot tool is `lximage-qt` , but you seem to want that tool to hide itself from you & only ask for a 'save' name? That doesn't make sense to me. It's the same program that takes the screenshot (with a -s option) that also displays the image. You mention the drawing tools not working, that's a known issue (https://bugs.launchpad.net/lxqt/+bug/1831847) and is reported upstream (https://github.com/lxqt/lxqt/issues/1720), this applies to a number of items you mention. Those buttons weren't supposed to be visible yet (beta), but I think they're better being visible even with the bugs, than being hidden until they're fully debugged myself. The keyboard shortcuts is a messy one, Lubuntu has always used `openbox` which is not LXQt's default window manager, in fact LXQt does not have one, thus shortcuts will remain an issue for awhile, but I'd suggest you just follow the Lubuntu manual which I think is clear - https://manual.lubuntu.me/F/keyboard_shortcuts.html I could go on, but the article reads like you didn't do much homework before writing the review - preferring to 'sling insults' from the cheap seats instead, with a quick acknowledgement in the conclusion that most your issues are with LXQt. The review to me was superficial.
Irudayam November 8, 2019
|
What Lubuntu lacks in the bells and whistles it makes up for in being snappy and lightweight even on old hardware. Makes an excellent Plex Media server serving up 1080p files to an Apple TV. Time and time again it has helped me resurrect an old ailing desktop or laptop. Though I have to agree that it does have much room to grow.
Neb November 14, 2019
|
I just upgraded to Lubuntu 19.10. After using it for a couple of weeks I googled to see if other people have problems with it. This is how I came to this site. I love Lubuntu and have been using it for a while, but I must say with sadness that I will discontinue this practice. It no longer feels like they have control over the distribution. It contains so many bugs that it entirely impacts your experience. It feels like a beta. Completely disappointing.
Simon November 23, 2019
|
This is true, I have experienced those bugs myself.
Marek December 7, 2019
|
I have been using Ubuntu for few years. Now I tried Lubuntu on a new computer and was pleasantly surprised by how light and quick lxqt is. First impression was amazing but then I started to customize. That got me. Thing this buggy after several years of development? You have to google even minor setting and when you reboot you will find out that your changes were not even saved. It is more like a joke than environment.
Jim June 17, 2020
|
I've used & loved Lubuntu ever since first trying the brand new 12.04. The GUI is simple, clean, things are relatively easy to do, and light on the system. Installed 20.04 on a machine at work & thought I was losing my mind... I could not for the life of me figure out how to simply add a shortcut to the quick launch area! Spent over an hour on it, then figured I'm remembering wrong. Checked my home laptop running 16.04 and sure enough - there it was. After much searching, I found this page and am glad I did as I haven't run into most of the above yet. A very quick search to see if there's another distro that still has LXDE revealed that simply running 'apt install lxde' as root, rebooting, and selecting LXDE from the top-left drop down box before logging in will get the good LXDE desktop back without having to do a full reinstall. (I was ready to go back to and stay on 18.04 before discovering this little tidbit. This is exactly why I abandoned windoze years ago... I was spending more time trying to figure out how to do what I wanted than I was actually doing the work!) Adding a shortcut must be an extremely complex task as I never did figure out how you're supposed to add a shortcut to the quick launch area under LXQt, and my job is writing computer programs. Bad, bad, BAD design, especially when it was SO simple/easy in the last revision!!! Why did they have to break something that isn't broken???
Marco Murillo June 20, 2020
|
I installed Lubuntu on my pc because it is old and it got slow with Ubuntu update. I regret. For what is mentioned in this article and more bugs. As when opening the discovery, the computer slows down too much and I cannot move besides that the results do not have to do with the program that I was looking for.
Mas Grande July 14, 2020
|
I believe much of Lubuntu's problem is the forced version-timeframe Canonical imposes on all the flavors. Lubuntu 20.04 was clearly not ready for primetime. But, everyone has to have their distro ready by a certain date. It's like a death march. Feast/famine. People just going through the motions because "that's how the corporate culture is here." I'm sure it makes things more understandable (everyone has the same version number. LTS means the same thing for every flavor.). But, it also leads to mediocrity. Lubuntu 20.04 should not have been released. It wasn't ready. And, it certainly wasn't LTS-quality. Lubuntu is an example of why the Linux desktop never gains any real traction against Windows. The whole *buntu community is like a cult. Canonical created "Bug #1" regarding Microsoft's market dominance. Everyone got all goosebumply about that. Later, it was ceremoniously marked resolved (2013). Hubris filled the air. Here we are 7 years later and it's like nobody thinks for themselves. They believe their own delusion. A distro isn't ready (and certainly not ready for LTS), and people just mouth the words because that's what's expected. Council this, and code-of-conduct that. The important thing is to lose your soul and just agree to go along with the slow-motion trainwreck.
Angela August 3, 2020
|
\"Lubuntu used to be a great Linux distribution, but after it switched into LXQt, it became a horrible one for end users. The distribution is unpolished, and contains many issues and bugs.\" You hardly found any. Most things are quality of life issues or just different to your existing expectations from whatever other distro it is you seem to prefer. The screen brightness thing is annoying but not a bug. The keyboard shortcuts thing might be annoying for you but it is definitely not a bug. What if I want the same key to do two things at once? In a some games this is an issue because I want to be able to do two things with one key press - on foot walk forward + in vehicle accelerate cant be set at same time to W without messing with a config file. That is annoying about the quick launch widget, yeah. It\'s not a bug though, it\'s just an annoyance. I think you can just change how files are show on that particular dialog box. You seem to think screenshotting should have a default option and if it doesn\'t save on the spot it\'s wrong. On Windows it just puts it in the clipboard. In some linux distros it does that too. In my phone it opens an image viewer and saves it. If I install lightshot into Windows any screenshot I take opens in an image viewer. There is no set standard for it, but if it\'s different to what you expect for whatever reason it\'s apparently wrong. Yeah that is an annoying bug about drawing on the image, I\'ll give you that. Not enough themes isn\'t a bug, it\'s just an annoyance. None of them were really to my taste either. The font thing does not seem confusing to me. The user management window shows some users that shouldn’t have been displayed? Coming from a Windows developer background I like to see all users, this looks good to me. That doesn\'t look like a bug, just something different to your preference. Yeah that is annoying on the terminal, just quality of life stuff. Yeah that opacity thing looks absolutely horrible. Touchpad clicking is not enabled by default? It was on my laptop actually. You final issue with window resizing - that was hardly a common thing until Windows 7 did it. Who decides it\'s the right way to handle it? Other window managers don\'t have it, it\'s not an issue. I find it interesting you didn\'t have any issues with Discover. It\'s very slow and unpleasant to use when you don\'t have much ram, but you don\'t think that\'s worth mentioning? Resources- wouldn\'t it make more sense to compare 19.04 to 19.04? Apples to apples makes the most sense, surely? qps is a problem because it\'s interface is hard to understand if you aren\'t that familiar with it - so is any package manager (such as Muon), but that\'s not worth mentioning with Muon? Stability & Bugs - 1/5 stars because you found one actual bug and other things were not the way you are used to? Sounds like you just don\'t like change.